Leadership Team

Del_Favero.Portrait.square.crop.2 blank_space blank_space blank_space

Scientia Professor Del Favero

Executive Director

Technical Systems Director

  • Alex Ong, UNSW Arts, Design and Architecture

Research Director

  • Dr Susanne Thurow, ARC Laureate Postdoctoral Fellow Digital Aesthetics, UNSW Arts, Design and Architecture

Engagement and Impact Director


  • Prof. Maurice Pagnucco, Deputy Dean (Education), School of Computer Science and Engineering, UNSW Engineering
  • Prof. Jason John Sharples, School of Science, UNSW Canberra @ ADFA
  • Dr Susanne Thurow, ARC Laureate Postdoctoral Fellow Digital Aesthetics, UNSW Arts, Design and Architecture
  • Dr Carlos Tirado, ARC Laureate Postdoctoral Fellow Intelligent Visualisation, UNSW Arts, Design and Architecture
  • Prof. Travis Waller, Deputy Dean (Research) – UNSW Engineering, Advisian Chair of Transport Innovation, Executive Director of the Research Centre for Integrated Transport Innovation

Centre Fellows


Adjunct Professors

  • Arul Baskaran Manager, ABC
  • Matthew Connell, Director, Curatorial, Collections & Exhibitions, Museum of Applied Arts and Sciences
  • Kip Williams, Artistic Director, Sydney Theatre Company
  • Lyndon Terracini, Artistic Director, Opera Australia

Visiting Professorial Research Fellows

  • Prof. Malvina Borgherini, Professor of Theater and Performing Arts, IUAV University, Venice
  • Prof. George Legrady, Distinguished Professor, Digital Media Art, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Prof. Wolfgang Tschapeller, Director, Institute for Art and Architecture, Academy of Fine Arts, Vienna
  • Prof. Peter Weibel, CEO, ZKM Centre for Art and Media, Karlsruhe

Visiting Research Fellows

  • Dr Timothy Barker, Lecturer, Digital Media, University of Glasgow, Scotland
  • Robin Chow, Lead Software Architect, Trazepp
  • Lara Clemente, Architectural 3D Modeller, Binyan Studios, Australia
  • Ardrian Hardjono, Founder, FollowApp Care
  • A/Prof. Mohammad Obaid, Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg
  • Dr Stephen Sewell, Head, Writing for Performance, NIDA

Postdoctoral Fellows

iCinema Fellows

Immersive Systems Engineers


Centre Manager


Scientia (Kensington)

Centre Commercial Arm

Immersive Realisation Pty Ltd: Damian Leonard (Director) (email:
iCinema Email: